Alumni Association

Members of the faculty of Babies Hospital established the Babies Hospital Alumni Association (BHAA) around 1938. Its objective, according to the bylaws, "shall be the advancement of the interests of Babies Hospital, the advancement of pediatric art and science, and the promotion of social activities among its members."

Alumni Day

Alumni Day occurs in April of each year. All alumni association members are invited to participate in a day of activities, including:

  • Hattie Alexander Memorial Lecture
  • BHAA Distinguished Alumnus Award
  • BHAA Breakfast and Business Meeting

The BHAA presents the following awards each year:

  • Distinguished Alumnus Award: This award is presented to “an alumnus or alumna who has received wide recognition for distinguished service to the science or practice of pediatrics or for excellence in public service for the health and welfare of children." View current and past Distinguished Alumnus Award recipients.
  • Harry S. Altman Memorial Prize: This prize is presented to a senior medical student who demonstrates enthusiasm, eagerness, integrity, honesty, and dedication to the health and wellbeing of children, in the best tradition of Dr. Harry S. Altman. 2022 recipient Zachary Pitkowsky has been inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor society and will be a pediatric resident at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital.
  • Edward C. Curnen, Jr. Award: This award was established by Dr. Curnen’s colleagues to honor the house officer who best exemplifies the ideas of humane and compassionate patient care that Dr. Curnen so manifestly displayed during his long and distinguished career in pediatrics. Nicole Kelly, MD, 2022 awardee, will be a pediatric hospital medicine fellow at NYP-Columbia/Cornell.

  • Emmett Holt Fellowship: This award is presented to a graduating medical student, or student who has graduated within the last two years, in honor of his or her exceptional promise in the field of pediatrics and dedication to children. Lisa Grossman Liu, who received the award in 2022, will be a physician-scientist pediatric resident at the University of California, San Francisco.
  • Jerry Jacobs Prize: This prize is awarded to a graduating student who has demonstrated excellence in the differential diagnosis and treatment of disorders in children. The 2022 award is shared between Catherine Kernie, who will be a pediatric resident at Stanford University, and Liza Stephanz, who will be a pediatric resident at NYP/Columbia.
  • Rustin McIntosh Fellowship: Dr. Rustin McIntosh was Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics and Director of the Pediatric Service from 1933-1960. During his tenure, Dr. McIntosh fostered a “spirit of doubt and need for inquiry” that led to breakthroughs in the treatments of many childhood diseases. The Rustin McIntosh Fellowship honors a pediatric postgraduate fellow who best exemplifies these attributes. 2022 recipient Pooja Reddy, MD, completed her gastroenterology fellowship at NYP/Columbia and is now an advanced fellow in transplant hepatology. She has worked on several projects related to quality and patient safety.
  • Metropolitan Fund Fellowship: The Metropolitan Fund Fellowship was established in the Division of Hematology/Oncology in 1986 in memory of former fellow Susan Furnberg, who died during her fellowship year. This award is presented annually to a fellow demonstrating excellence in the field of hematology, oncology, and stem cell transplantation. Andrea Webster Carrion, MD, 2022 awardee, is interested in the treatment of pediatric diffuse midline glioma. Dr. Carrion will be a fellow in pediatric neuro-oncology at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.
  • Milton Singer Memorial Fellowship: This award is presented to talented physicians who have completed their residency in pediatrics and who are planning a career in research in children's illnesses that held a special interest to Dr. Singer, particularly cerebral palsy and prematurity. Helen Hu, MD, who received the prize in 2022, completed pediatric residency at CHOP and neonatal-perinatal medicine training at NewYork-Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital. Her academic interests are in simulation based education and neonatal resuscitation. Dr. Hu plans to return to her hometown and take a junior faculty position in neonatology at the University of Florida.
  • Rebecca A. Schwarz Memorial Prize: Dr. and Mrs. Steven M. Schwarz established The Rebecca A. Schwarz Memorial Prize in November 1981 as a memorial tribute to their infant daughter, Rebecca, who died after surgery to repair a congenital heart defect. In appreciation for the support and care they received throughout Rebecca's life, the Schwarz family established this prize to be presented to a senior medical student conducting outstanding research in the area of pediatric heart disease. 2022 recipient Francisca Chou will be a pediatric resident at Boston Children’s Hospital.
  • William Perry Watson Prize: This is the oldest award in the Department of Pediatrics, established in 1922 by a gift from Dr. Watson. The prize is awarded annually to the member of the graduating class who shows "the most valuable work in the study of the diseases of infants and children during his or her regular courses.” Dr. Watson was a graduate of the P&S Class of 1878 and went on to become the Medical Director of the Prudential Life Insurance Company. 2022 awardees are Maggie Schmaedick and Haley Davis. Both will be pediatric residents at Boston Children’s Hospital.
  • Dr. Jen-Tien Wung Fellowship Award for Clinical Excellence in Neonatology: This award was established in 2020 in the Division of Neonatology in honor of Dr. Jen Tien Wung. The award is presented annually to a graduating neonatology fellow who has demonstrated excellence in the clinical care of neonates that Dr. Wung so manifestly displayed during his long and distinguished career. Chantal Angueyra Aristizabal, MD, 2022 award recipient, completed pediatric residency training at Harlem Hospital and neonatal-perinatal training at NewYork-Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital. Her academic interests are in bioethics, communication, and shared decisionmaking in neonatology. She is seeking to work in a tertiary level NICU caring for critically ill and complex patients.


  • Connie Kostacos, MD

    • President 2022-2024
  • Natasha Leibel, MD

    • Vice President/President-Elect 2022-2024
  • Gary S. Edelstein, MD

    • Secretary
  • John M. Driscoll, Jr., MD

    • Secretary Emeritus
  • Anne Armstrong-Coben, MD

    • Treasurer
  • Patricia Hametz, MD, MPH

    • Nominating Committee Chair
  • John Babineau, MD

    • Immediate Past President